South Island Medical Staff Association Annual General Meeting Minutes

November 23, 2021 – meeting began at 18:40

Attendance

MSA members per meeting attendance, MSA Executive (Dr. Catherine Jenkins, Dr. Fred Voon, Dr. Jennifer Balfour, Dr. John Galbraith, Dr. Maria Kang, Dr. Alicia Power); FEI Staff Erica Kjekstad, Rita Webb, Clara Rubincam and Julia Porter; VMS Staff Lillian Fitterer; MSA Staff Marg Severs

- Welcome by MSA Co-President, Dr. Catherine Jenkins
 Approval of Agenda and 2020 AGM Minutes Adopted by Dr. Alicia Power and seconded by Dr. Don Milliken
- 2. Introduction of guests
 - Crystal White, Manager, Facility and Community Engagement, Doctors of BC
 - Alanna Black, Regional Advocate and Advisor, Doctors of BC
 - Annebeth Leurs, Engagement Partner, Doctors of BC
- 3. Report of the Directors:
 - a. Co-President (Dr. Catherine Jenkins)
 - Thank you to everyone who has contributed and helped the MSA this last year
 - Broad work of engagement to form a community and improve patient care; three main prongs of work – Quality Improvement/Engagement micro grant projects; Physician Wellness & Social Committee (highlight of the year was the BBQ in September, held regular mindfulness meetings); Advocacy – voice of physicians
 - "Walk a Doc" program is helping connect physicians and administrators
 - Interdepartmental funding to support departments to connect
 - b. Treasurer's Report (Dr. Fred Voon)
 - Financial Update breakdown of Revenue and Expenses were shared
 - Executive Honouraria Approved in 2019

President: \$50,000Vice-President: \$10,000Secretary: \$10,000Treasurer: \$10,000

Directors at Large: \$10,000

- As shown in the financial statements, \$70,000 of members' dues are put towards the honouraria of the President, Vice President, and Secretary. Last year, towards the Co-Presidents and the Secretary
- Motions:
 - To accept the Treasurer's Report Accepted Dr. John Galbraith and Dr. William Cunningham seconded – Approved
 - To keep dues at their current level going forward Accepted Dr. Al
 Hayashi and Dr. Alicia Power seconded Approved
 - To accept the proposal for Executive Honouraria Accepted Dr. Milton Baker and Dr. Michael Chen seconded - Approved
 - To allow the Executive to make a donation to the MSA-SI Endowed Bursary if there is a surplus – Accepted Dr. Maria Kang and Dr. Jason Wale seconded - Approved

- 4. Presentation of third annual South Island MSA Recognition Awards:
 - a. Award for Community Leadership Dr. Matt Carere
 - b. Award for Communications Leadership Alanna Black
 - c. Award for Collaborative Leadership Dr. Hayley Bos
 - d. Award for Collaborative Leadership Dr. Karen McIntyre
 - e. Award for Innovative Leadership:
 - Dr. Daniel Newman
- Dr. Melinda Zeron-Mullins
- Dr. Dillon Takata
- Dr. Nancy Humber
- Dr. Dion Scott
- Dr. Pierre Pepler
- Dr. Elisabeth Crisci
- Dr. Saskia Acton
- Dr. Kamran Forghani
- Dr. Shauna Tierney
- Dr. Lenny Woo

- Dr. Tess Hammett
- Dr. Liz Thompson
- Dr. Vivian Ming

5. Election of Officers:

- a. Recognition of Retiring Officers Thank you for your hard work and dedication!
 - Dr. Kevin Yee, Dr. Maria Kang, and Dr. John Galbraith
- b. Proposed Motions:
 - Adjust the Local MSA Executive structure defined in the Island Health Medical Staff Rules Section 2.4.4 to be comprised of two Co-Presidents
 - Combine the Honoraria for the President and Vice-President to be divided between the Co-Presidents based on scope of responsibility

Motions Accepted Dr. Chris Taylor; Dr. William Cunningham seconded - Approved

- c. Election of Officers Approved
 - Co-Presidents Dr. Catherine Jenkins and Dr. Fred Voon
 - Secretary Dr. Jennifer Balfour
 - Director at Large Projects Dr. Alicia Power
 - Director at Large Dr. Alex Hoechsmann
 - Director at Large vacant
 - Treasurer vacant

MSA portion completed at 19:10 - FEI AGM report to follow.