South Island Medical Staff Association Annual General Meeting Minutes

November 21, 2023 – meeting began at 18:28

<u>Attendance</u>

MSA members per meeting attendance, MSA Executive: Dr. Catherine Jenkins, Dr. Fred Voon, Dr. Krystal Cullen, Dr. Richard Reid, Dr. Suresh Tulsiani, Dr. Alex Hoechsmann, Dr. Alicia Power; MSA Administrators: Erica Kjekstad, Rita Webb, Clara Rubincam and Julia Porter; VMS Staff: Lillian Fitterer

- Welcome from MSA Co-President, Dr. Fred Voon Approval of Agenda and 2022 AGM Minutes - Adopted by Dr. William Cunningham and seconded by Dr. Al Hayashi
- 2. Introduction of guests
 - Kathy MacNeil, CEO, Island Health
 - Dr. Ian Thompson, Executive Medical Director, Medical Staff Governance
 - Alanna Black, Director, Partnerships and Communications, Medical and Academic Affairs
 - Amber Addley, Communications Advisor, Medical and Academic Affairs
 - IHealth Leaders:
 - Dr. Mary Lyn Fyfe, Chief Medical Information Officer
 - Dr. Eric Shafonsky, Associate CMIO
 - Dr. Pooya Kazemi, IHealth Site Lead for RJH
 - Leanne Bulmer, Regional Advocate and Advisor, Doctors of BC
 - Annebeth Leurs, Engagement Partner, Doctors of BC
 - Crystal White, Manager, Doctors of BC
- 3. Report of the Directors:
 - a. Co-President (Dr. Catherine Jenkins)
 - System is still struggling but work is being done collaboratively
 - \circ Authority Engagement Survey reviewed to see what we can do to improve
 - More of an Island-wide MSA presence and efforts to have a united voice; looked at Medical Staff Respectful Workplace report (will be finalized in 2024) and empowering the Chief of Staff (CoS) position, including Medical Staff input into their hiring and the CoS having autonomy
 - IHealth advocating for Pharm Techs to support Computerized Provider Order Entry (CPOE) and Best Possible Medication History (BPMH)
 - Hope to help physicians navigate IHealth CPOE and decrease stress
 - Representatives from IHealth attended the South Island Physicians Family BBQ; working to strengthen connections and provide support to physicians
 - Work of MSA is a Team Sport Thank you:
 - Co-Presidents Fred Voon & Catherine Jenkins
 - Other executive:
 - Krystal Cullen Secretary
 - Suresh Tulsiani Treasurer
 - Alicia Powers Director at Large (Projects)
 - Alex Hoechsmann Director at Large
 - Richard Reid Director at Large

- Administrative support team: Erica Kjekstad, Clara Rubincam, Rita Webb, Julia Porter, Steph Poirier (MSA); Lillian Fitterer (VMS)
- People who have worked on various committees: Working Group, Wellness and Social Committee, IHealth (names in the Annual Report)
- b. Treasurer's Report (Dr. Suresh Tulsiani)
 - Financial Update breakdown of Revenue and Expenses were shared
 - Anticipating more expenses to come before end of the calendar year, including a \$12,000 contribution to IMP Student Welcome Gala
 - Members' Dues paid: 63% of members with Active, Associate, Provisional, and Locum privileges; 77% of Active members; 58% of Associate members; 41% of Provisional members; 27% of Locum members
 - Executive Honouraria Approved in 2019 (remains the same)
 - President: \$50,000
 - Vice-President: \$10,000
 - Secretary: \$10,000
 - Treasurer: \$10,000
 - Directors at Large: \$10,000
 - Discussion:
 - Review remuneration to reflect the importance of the position and the value of the time; propose updating it at the next AGM
 - Motions:
 - To accept the Treasurer's Report
 - To keep dues at their current level going forward
 - To accept the Executive Honoraria as presented
 - To allow the Executive to make a donation to the South Island MSA Endowed Bursary if there is a surplus

Motions Accepted – Dr. Suresh Tulsiani, Seconded – Dr. Maria Kang

- 4. Presentation of fifth annual peer nominated South Island MSA Recognition Awards:
 - a. Award for Community Leadership Dr. Matt Billinghurst
 - b. Award for Community Leadership Dr. Vanessa Young
 - c. Award for Communications Leadership Dr. Leah MacDonald
 - d. Award for Collaborative Leadership Dr. Jason Hart
 - e. Award for Collaborative Leadership Dr. Jody Anderson
 - f. Award for Innovative Leadership Dr. Al Hayashi
 - g. Recognition and Appreciation Dr. Ian Thompson
- 5. Election of Officers:
 - a. Proposed Motions:
 - Adjust the Local MSA Executive structure defined in the Island Health Medical Staff Rules Section 2.4.4 to be comprised of two Co-Presidents
 - Combine the Honoraria for the President and Vice-President to be divided between the Co-Presidents based on scope of responsibility
 Motions Accepted - Dr. Al Buckley; Seconded – Dr. Eric Shafonsky

- b. Election of Officers Approved
 - Co-Presidents Dr. Catherine Jenkins and Dr. Fred Voon
 - Treasurer Dr. Suresh Tulsiani
 - Secretary Dr. Krystal Cullen
 - Director at Large (Projects) Dr. Alicia Power
 - Director at Large Dr. Alex Hoechsmann
 - Director at Large Dr. Richard Reid
- 6. Opportunity as a member of DoBC to vote for the President Elect, have until November 30th to vote between two candidates
 - a. Representative Assembly Members can vote for Board of Directors and other positions found in their email

MSA portion completed at 19:05 - FEI AGM report to follow.